Five Minutes Love – Carol Hathorne


The first part of nationally acclaimed author Carol Hathorne’s autobiography, Slurry & Strawberries was published by the Black Country Society in 2002 and covered the early years of her Tipton childhood. Carol went on to write a further two parts, Bread Pudding Days, and A Woodbine on the Wall covering her teenage years.

In 2006, The Kates Hill Press brought out Five Minutes Love, bringing together in one volume all three parts of this incredible story. Now available in paperback, Five Minutes comprises:-

Slurry & Strawberries tells of life on Tipton’s Lost City Estate. The early and junior school years of a working class up bringing depicting the warmth of family life set against a backdrop of social deprivation.

Bread Pudding Days moves the story on to senior school, travelling to Wednesbury, broadening horizons, new friends and old truths.

A Woodbine on the Wall covers the rite of passage era in which a young woman and a writer emerges.

At turns moving, endearing and funny, Five Minutes Love is a must for anyone interested in the social history of the Black Country.

SKU: 30FML Categories: , Tag:


Royal 8vo paperback, 142 pages, £8.00 (plus £1.20 p&p)
ISBN 978 1 904552 41 3


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Five Minutes Love – Carol Hathorne”

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.